MARKET OUTLOOK
Monthly market outlook for China and Asia region.
2018-8
58a26333a6659
China

Macro data showed continuous weakness in China’s economy. 3Q GDP growth came down to 6.5%, weaker than market consensus.   October Manufacturing PMI slipped further from 50.8 to 50.2, while Non-Manufacturing PMI also softened from 54.9 to 53.9, both lower than market consensus.  Fixed Asset Investment (ex-rural) growth inched up to 5.4%, but still the lowest level since year 2001.  Industrial Production growth drifted down persistently to 5.8% in September, the first time below 6% since December 2015.  Industrial profit growth in September fell sharply from 9.2% to 4.1%, 5-straight months of decline since April.  While September Retail Sales growth bounced back moderately from 9.0% to 9.2%, general sentiment remained weak.  Exports growth stayed resilient at 14.5%, 4.7% stronger than previous month, due to rush in order prior to comprehensive implementation of tariff hike.  While M2 growth stayed relatively flat at 8.3%, CPI inched up to 2.5% from 2.3 in August. 

After the long National holiday, domestic markets opened sharply lower to catch up the tumble of the US and other regional markets. Apart from unsettled Sino-US trade dispute, the hawkish statement from the US vice President signaled a more intensified geopolitical tension between the two nations. Combined with weaker than expected macro data and sharp correction in other global bourses, A-shares plunged and once fell more than 11% during the first half of October.    While sentiment deteriorating significantly, the government released new policies in order to restore investor confidence.  After the Financial Stabilization Committee meeting, senior officials sent out a clear message that the government is concerned about the consecutive decline of A shares and obviously released the attitude of support to stock markets. For instance, the proposal of setting up specific funds (by brokers, insurance money and funding from local government) to help alleviate potential risks from “Stock-Pledge Lending” eased concern of forced-selling on most small-to-mid cap companies. Also, the Ministry of Finance and the State Administration of Taxation issued the Interim Measures for Additional Individual Income Tax Deductions (draft for circulation), which aimed to boost consumer confidence. 

Although sentiment marginally improved and the broad indices managed to climb up in later part of the month, only a handful of sectors rebounded while most of the stocks declined across the broad throughout the entire month.   A key negative development was lower than expected 3Q results released by not only small-cap companies, but also from many bellwethers in various sectors.  One of the phenomenon that we noticed from recent plunge is that most of the so-called good fundamental stocks suffered even more decline compared to broad indices.  In addition to weaker than expected 3Q results in certain cases, we believe that this could be due to unloading of positions from some institutional investors (as these investors supposed to hold on heavy position across those good fundamental names).  The actions of these selling pressure could magnify the extent of market reaction and making the share price movement irrational in the short term.  For example, the lower than expected 3Q results from Maotai triggered a panic sell-off across all liquor names, making the consumer staples the worst performing sector in October.  Similarly, the disappointing results from Midea initiated decline across all home appliance names.  Over the month, sector performance was diverged.  Financial sector out-performed sharply as supported by Banks (in-line 3Q results and very low valuation) and Brokers (new policy to alleviate risks from “Stock-Pledge Lending”).  Despite sharp correction in most oil names, Energy sector marginally out-performed due to strengths in several coal stocks.  Industrial sector also performed slightly better than broad markets as supported by relatively out-performance in several machinery and construction counters. Other than Consumer plays, Healthcare and I. T. stocks under-performed.  On top of weak 3Q results, concern of further price cut on drugs dampened sentiment.  Although I.T. stocks indeed reported mixed results, the sector was weighted down by Apple-chain stocks and chip makers on uncertain outlook for the trade dispute. Hang Seng Index and HSCEI Index dropped with global markets.  Despite strengths in several telecom and utility plays, sharp decline in Tencent and a few financial stocks pulled down the entire markets. Overall, the BM Index closed 10.9% down from last month. 

Judged from latest comment after the Financial Stabilization Committee meeting, although de-leveraging is still the long-term target, the announcement revealed that “appropriate” de-leveraging is the priority in the near term. In other words, liquidity would be less tight and would be loosened should there be requirements. Nevertheless, we do not expect any meaningful turnaround in the downward trend near term.  Firstly, even with more loosening towards specific infrastructure projects, the impact can only be felt a few months later.  Also, despite more tax deduction, the actual tax saving will not be realized until next year and hence, the willingness of consumption should continue to weaken with slowdown in the economy. 

We believe that the release of latest policies could provide short-term boost to the stock markets. However, due to slowdown of economy and still uncertain about external environment, the outlook remains blur.  In addition, given the upward momentum of the US market also starts to fade, we believe that A-share markets may trend down further near term in high market volatility.   We think that local investors will start to pay more attention to other external issues such as the turnaround of the US market and weaknesses in the EU side. Previously, we expect the 15% decline in the first 3 quarters for A shares should have largely discounted the macro slowdown and worsened geopolitical tension, the latest round of weaker than expected 3Q results may send down the market further until some positive catalysts emerge. Although most so-called good fundamental blue-chips suffer big correction in recent weeks, we still hold the view that large-cap stocks should out-perform amid rising risks awareness and after all still better visibility in earnings for blue-chip counters.

map_gcr
Greater China Region

MSCI China fell along with other global equities markets last month. Apart from trade tensions, other macro uncertainties such as UK Brexit, Italian budget as well as the plunge in US stocks, hiking US treasury yields, etc. contributed to the weakness of equities markets.  IT stocks led the decline.  This followed the US tech stocks sell-off on trade concerns, profit taking before the mid-term elections, etc.  The weak 4Q guidance of some tech companies added to the IT selling pressure.   China’s 100bps RRR did not provide too much support to the market.   We believe markets will keep a close eye on the US mid-term elections and the scheduled meeting between Trump and Xi at the G20 summit in November.   The outcome from the Trump-Xi meeting could have a binary impact on stock markets.  In the meantime, the Chinese government would continue rolling out supportive measures (e.g. personal tax cut, RRR cut, asset management plan to alleviate “share pledges” pressure, etc.) to reduce the negative impact from the trade conflicts.

map-ac
ASEAN Countries

ASEAN equities fell into a bear market in October with the cumulative drawdown surpassing 20% from the January 2018 peak. Singapore and Thailand declined the most in October. Singapore bank interest margins disappointed because funding pressures caused deposit rates to rise faster than lending rates. Thai energy stocks declined with oil price after Saudi Arabia committed to raising production to cover the shortfall from sanctions on Iran. ASEAN markets are pricing-in slower growth in 2019 caused by disruption from the US-China trade dispute and tightening liquidity from a strong USD and higher interest rates. ASEAN equities now confronts the binary event of US-China trade talks at the end of November where the outcome determines whether the market rallies into year-end or falls to new year-lows to adjust for a more severe slowdown in 2019.

市場分析
每月中國和亞洲區域市場分析
2018-8
58a26333a6659
中國

宏觀數據顯示中國經濟持續疲弱。第三季度國內生產總值增長率降至6.5%,遜於市場預期。十月份製造業採購經理指數從50.8進一步下跌至50.2,非製造業採購經理指數亦從54.9下跌至53.9,均低於市場預期。固定資產投資(農村除外)增長小幅上升至5.4%,但仍是二零零一年以來的最低水平。工業生產增長在九月份持續下降至5.8%,這是自二零一五年十二月以來首次低於6%。工業利潤增長從四月份開始連續五個月下降,九月份從9.2%大幅下降至4.1%。雖然九月份零售銷售增長從9.0%溫和反彈至9.2%,但整體銷售情緒仍然疲弱。由於在全面實施加徵關稅之前緊急訂單大量上升,出口增長保持在14.5%,比上個月增加了4.7%。M2增長率維持於相對持平的8.3%水平,而消費物價指數則從八月份的2.3上升至2.5%。

 

國慶長假期之後,由於美國和其他區域市場皆大跌,國內市場亦大幅低開。除了不穩定的中美貿易爭端外,美國副總統發表強硬言論表明兩國之間的地緣政治緊張局勢將會愈演愈烈,加上遜於預期的宏觀數據和其他全球交易所的大幅調整,A股在十月上半月大幅下挫,並錄得超過11%的跌幅。雖然市場情緒明顯惡化,但政府發佈新政策以恢復投資者信心。金融穩定委員會會議結束後,高級官員發出明確信息,表示政府關注A股連續下跌,並明顯表現出對股市的支持態度。例如,建議建立特定基金(通過經紀、保險金和地方政府的資金)以幫助減輕「股票抵押貸款」的潛在風險,緩解了大多數中小型公司對強制拋售的擔憂。此外,財政部和國家稅務總局亦發佈了「個人所得税專項附加扣除暫行辦法」(徵求意見稿),旨在提高消費者信心。

 

雖然市場情緒略有改善,而且主板指數在本月下旬有所回升,但只有少數行業反彈,而大部分股票在整個月內都在下跌。關鍵的負面發展是低於預期的第三季度業績,不僅是小型公司,而且還來自各個行業的許多領頭羊。我們從最近的暴跌中注意到的一個現像是,與主板指數相比,大多數所謂的良好基本面股票遭受的下跌幅度更大。除了在某些情況下遜於預期的第三季度業績之外,我們認為這可能是由於某些機構投資者的拆倉行動所致(因為這些投資者應該大量持有這些擁有良好基本面的股票)。這些因沽售壓力所作的行為可能會放大市場反應的程度,並使股價在短期內變得不合理。例如,茅台酒的第三季度業績低於預期引發了所有酒類股票遭受恐慌性拋售,使得消費必需品成為十月份表現最差的板塊。同樣地,美的電器令人失望的業績也引發了所有家電產品股票的下跌。本月行業表現個別發展。由於銀行股(達標的第三季度業績和估值非常低)和經紀商(減輕「股票抵押貸款」風險的新政策)的支持,金融板塊表現突出。儘管大多數石油股票出現大幅調整,但由於多隻煤炭股的強勢,能源板塊表現略微勝於大市。由於若干機械和建築股類表現相對略為突出,工業板塊的表現稍勝於大市。除了消費類股,醫療保健和資訊科技股票均表現不佳。除了第三季度業績疲弱之外,對進一步藥品減價的擔憂亦抑制了市場情緒。雖然資訊科技股確實表現好壞參半,但由於貿易爭端前景不確定,蘋果供應商和晶片製造商對該板塊都構成了壓力。恒生指數和國企指數隨全球市場下跌。儘管多家電訊和公用事業公司都有優勢,但騰訊和少數金融股的大幅下跌拖垮了整個市場。總體而言,大盤指數較上月下跌10.9%。

 

從金融穩定委員會會議後的最新評論來看,雖然去槓桿化仍然是長期目標,但該發表顯示,「適當的」去槓桿化將會是近期的優先考慮。換句話說,流動性將不會再那麼緊張,如有需求就會放鬆。儘管如此,我們預計近期下跌趨勢將不會出現任何有意義的轉變。首先,即使對特定基礎設施項目的放鬆程度越來越高,影響只會在幾個月後才能被感受到。此外,儘管有更多的稅收減免措施,實際的稅收減免直到明年才會實現,因此,隨著經濟放緩,消費意願將繼續減弱。

 

我們認為,最新政策的發佈可以為股市提供短期的推動力。然而,由於經濟放緩以及外部環境仍然不確定,前景仍然模糊。此外,鑑於美國市場的上升動力也開始消退,我們認為A股市場可能會在高波幅市場中進一步下跌。我們認為,本地投資者將開始更加關注其他外部問題,如美國市場的轉變和歐盟方面的弱點。此前,我們預計A股前三季度下跌15%應該在很大程度上已經計算了宏觀經濟放緩和地緣政治緊張局勢惡化的影響,惟最新一輪遜於預期的第三季度業績可能進一步推動市場下行,直至一些積極的催化劑出現。雖然最近幾週大多數所謂的良好基本藍籌股遭受重大調整,但我們仍然認為大盤股應該會在風險意識上升的情況下跑贏大市,畢竟藍籌股的盈利可見度依然較佳。

map_gcr
大中華地區

摩根士丹利資本國際中國上個月與全球其他股市一樣報跌。除貿易局勢緊張外,其他宏觀不確定因素,如英國脫歐,意大利預算案以及美國股市暴跌,美國國債收益率走高等因素導致股市疲弱。資訊科技股領跌。此前,美國科技股因貿易擔憂,以及中期選舉前的獲利回吐等原因遭遇拋售。一些科技公司疲弱的第四季度預測指引增加了資訊科技股沽售壓力。中國降低100個基點的存款準備金並未對市場提供太多支撐。我們認為市場將密切關注美國中期選舉以及特朗普與習近平在十一月G20峰會上已安排的會面。特朗普和習近平會議的結果將可能對股市產生多重影響。與此同時,中國政府將繼續推出支持性措施(例如個人減稅、降準、資產管理計劃以減輕「股票抵押貸款」壓力等),以減少貿易衝突的負面影響。

map-ac
東盟國家

十月份東盟股市陷入熊市,累計跌幅超過二零一八年一月高位的20%。十月份新加坡和泰國的跌幅最大。新加坡銀行利差令人失望,因為融資壓力導致存款利率上升速度快於貸款利率。 在沙特阿拉伯承諾提高產量以彌補對伊朗制裁的不足之後,泰國能源股隨油價下跌。東盟市場正在調整:由於中美貿易爭端的破壞,強勢美元以及更高利率導致流動性收緊,引致二零一九年增長放緩。東盟股市將受十一月底中美貿易談判的結果所影響,其結果將決定市場是否會反彈到年底,或跌至新的低點,以相應調整至二零一九年更嚴重的經濟放緩。